Wednesday December 29, 2010-Getting in the Mood to Get it On

Earlier in the week, I mentioned that I had to start getting ready to play my Star Wars campaign.  Well, I have sent out a few bland emails to the players and opened up the armoire to pull out all my game notes.  Then I started surfing the old document files in the computer.  Sure thing, ideas that I had eight weeks ago have plopped back into my head.  Unfortunately, they just sat there in gelatin.  There was no juices flowing, no ideas simmered, or sizzled, it was like throwing tofu into a vegetable melody-there was just no meat. 

Apparently, I was not in the Star Wars mood.

This is not a good state of mind to be in when you want to work on Star Wars; fortunately, I am fairly aware of myself, with good idea of my strengths and weaknesses.  Most people would suggest going to source materials (the movies) to put you into the mood, that is sort of a hit or miss for me.  I have already watched all the movies so many times that I lose focus when watching.  The movies impact me about as much as Happy Days reruns.  I know it is a crying shame to admit it, but it is true.  Essentially, I have to be in a Star Wars mood to draw anything out of them.  I am not even going to mention books or video games as source material, lets for this blog, consider that they have the same effect.  I could move more into the abstract, start thinking about underlining themes, mythos, and game mechanics.  You know, what it means to be a Jedi?  What is the story structures used in Star Wars?  What game mechanics should I use to gain the greatest effect?  That has worked well with me in the past, but that is more inspirational.  The abstract approach is what I use to start campaigns and I am very strong with that.  There is also a big negative that comes from the abstract approach, changing things up too much and too quickly.  Don’t fix what is not broken.   l am willing to wait until next week to draw upon that approach if something doesn’t click this week.  After all, I still got some time. 

I think I will use this opportunity to push my one GMing weakness; description.  Having been a visual artist and dyslexic all my life, words are not my friends.  Before spell-check, they were my nemesis.   I always feel I need to work on verbal description during actual play, but where do you get the skill building experience? You have to be playing.  Is there some way you can practice, widening your neuropathways just a little; so, when you are playing, there is a better chance for that cogitative leap? I don’t know, but I am willing to try something.  Why not now?  Could by pulling on all your Star Wars understanding, filtering them through specific events, and purposely writing a description both help your verbal skills at the gaming table and get you in the mood for the game?  When I put it that way, it sounds like a win/win situation; but lets us be realistic, if it gets me in the mood to get it on; it is still a good win.

Pete

Explore posts in the same categories: Gamemaster, Table Top RPG

Leave a Reply

